Who Are You?

Happy Sunday, Y’all!  Today in church we talked about being truthful to ourselves and our personal relationships with God.  Our pastor keeps it real and I love it.  Today we talked about how going to church doesn’t necessarily mean you have a one way ticket to Heaven and how to truly understand your path with God.  Church is a wonderful thing and it’s meant to bring a sense of community and family to one another.  Church is awesome and I look forward to Sundays, but I don’t look forward to Sundays because it’s the only time I praise him.  I look forward to Sundays to learn new things, rejoice with others, and I can share my story with the lord .  The most important part of anyone’s journey with God occurs outside the walls of where you worship.  It occurs when no one else is around.  Your relationship with God is just that.  YOURS.  Do you know what the best part of that is?  No one can take that from you.  Ever!

Over the years, I have found God, lost my way on the path, and that was a vicious cycle.  I thought we had found our home with a wonderful church congregation in New Albany, Indiana a few years ago, but life happens and we decided it was time to move to Paducah, KY to be closer to family.  When we moved, we were so sad about moving away from our church and so biased that we didn’t even attend another one.  We reverted back to our old selves and old ways of thinking we knew what was right for us, instead of listening to God. It took almost three years and countless sob stories before we knew that it was time to change our focus and really listen to God.  After almost a year of excuses on reasons why we couldn’t attend church with one of our dear friends, we went with her last week for the first time.  It was amazing.  I feel so ashamed that it took this long for us to find our way, but I know that God loves us and he died for our sins.  He died so we could breathe and live through him.

Our phone rings a lot less these days and not nearly as many visitors as we used to have, but I’m not upset.  I know I speak for both my husband and I when I say that we were ready to ready for our awakening with God and it is already amazing.  We take time each and every day to communicate our problems, pray, and meditate on the Lord’s word.  We may not be the life of the party any more in others’ eyes, but we could not be happier.  We are stronger in each and every way knowing that we are on the right path.  I hope this inspires someone to stop making excuses and really listen to what God is saying to you.  I know I know wake up each day and can’t wait to see what God has in store for us, rather than carefully walking on eggshells to avoid the personal explosions of everyday life.

Have a blessed Sunday,

April
85daf6a4840bfc5f837a9435862d4524

One thought on “Who Are You?

Leave a Reply

